Second Try on Kickstarter 

I’m currently working on my second book, “Nelson Beats The Odds: Tameka’s New Dress”. I’m really excited and have launched my second Kickstarter. The first one was unsuccessful and I lowered my funding goal by $9,000 this time. My feelings were hurt when I only raised $1,800 last time and failed to reach my goal. I put a lot of time and energy into it and was desperate for the money. I put out a press release, extended it to 45 days and uploaded a video. I shared it religiously on Facebook and Twitter. I had tons of family and friends but only a small percentage donated. Some complained that it was difficult to navigate Kickstarter, others complained about having to register a profile just to donate money. I set up a paypal account and accepted preorders. The preorders were what helped me fund my project.

You may ask, why go back? Well, Kickstarter is a cool website and I want to succeed this time. I haven’t uploaded a video yet and really haven’t pushed it as hard as the first book. I am confident that I can raise $750. I’ve already raised $294. I’ll continue pushing, Ronnie will beat the odds this time around. 

Author: Ronnie Sidney II, MSW

Ronnie Sidney, II, MSW, is a father, therapist, author, app developer, professional speaker, philanthropist and entrepreneur. He received a Master of Social Work from Virginia Commonwealth University in 2014. Ronnie was raised in Tappahannock, Virginia, and attended Essex County Public Schools (ECPS). While attending ECPS, he spent several years in Special Education after being diagnosed with a learning disability. The stigmatization of special education created a lack of interest in school. With limited options regarding four-year colleges, he decided to enroll in J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College in Richmond, Virginia. The following year, he transferred to Old Dominion University, where he received a Bachelor of Science degree in Human Services in 2006. Sidney has since published two books, "Nelson Beats the Odds" and "Tameka's New Dress". He also developed the Nelson Beats the Odds Comic Creator.

Leave a Reply

